Said the Whale Announce Full-Album Livestream Performance of 'Islands Disappear'

They will be treating their 2009 LP to an acoustic run-through and a live podcast
Said the Whale Announce Full-Album Livestream Performance of 'Islands Disappear'
Photo: Vanessa Heins
Said the Whale have become very active with Side Door's ticketed livestreams, and now they've announced the latest instalment in a running series of full-album performances. This Friday (June 12), the Vancouver indie rock group will be performing their fan favourite 2009 album Islands Disappear in full.

The band's core trio will do two full-album acoustic performances: an early show at 5 p.m. PT (8 p.m. ET), followed by a late show at 8 p.m. PT (11 p.m. ET).

In between those two performances, they will be doing a livestreamed episode of their podcast Demoitis, which is their Song Exploder-style deep-dive into the background behind the songs. This episode of Demoitis, which naturally focuses on the writing on Islands Disappear, will take place at 6 p.m. PT (9 p.m. ET).

Tickets for the performances cost $8, and the Demoitis episode costs $5. There's also a VIP ticket for $13, which includes a download of demos, unreleased tracks (including a collaborative track with Shad), and photos from the archives. Tickets are available from the band's website and proceeds will go towards creating a grant for BIPOC youth musicians.

The Islands Disappear performance follows last month's run-through of 2008's Howe Sounds/Taking Abalonia. They have promised that subsequent full-album performances and podcasts will follow.