Sade, Snoop Dogg Inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame

Gloria Estefan, Jeff Lynne, Teddy Riley, Glen Ballard and Liz Rose round out the rest of this year's inductees
Sade, Snoop Dogg Inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame
The Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) has announced the inductees for its 52nd annual honours — Sade and Snoop Dogg among them, Billboard reports.

Though renowned for their work in groups, Gloria Estefan of Miami Sound Machine, Jeff Lynne of ELO and Blackstreet, and Teddy Riley of Guy are being inducted individuals.

Glen Ballard, best known for co-writing Alanis Morissette's Jagged Little Pill and Michael Jackson hits like "Man in the Mirror," and early-career Taylor Swift collaborator Liz Rose round out the rest of the songwriters slated for induction at the awards gala, scheduled to take place on June 15 in New York City.

This ceremony will be the fifth consecutive one to include the induction of a songwriter associated with hip-hop or rap. Although "songwriter" might not necessarily be the first title to come to mind with Snoop Dogg, his expansive catalogue speaks for itself.

Meanwhile, Sade's induction is serendipitously timed with rumours that she and the band are recording new music, suggesting that the long-awaited follow-up to 2010's Soldier of Love might finally be upon us.

"The music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first," SHOF chairman — and 2016 inductee — Nile Rodgers said in a statement. "Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch … nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter."

Last year, the Canadian version of the honours inducted Morissette, Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance, David Foster and Daniel Lavoie.