Rival Schools Treat 'United by Fate' to Deluxe Vinyl Reissue

Rival Schools Treat 'United by Fate' to Deluxe Vinyl Reissue
Post-hardcore pioneer Walter Schreifels has spent the better part of 2013 taking a trip down memory lane, thanks to a reunion tour with '90s alt-rock quartet Quicksand, as well as the official release of his subsequent band Rival Schools' lost sophomore album. Now he's taking things a step further by re-releasing Rival Schools' groundbreaking debut, United by Fate, on vinyl for the first time in over a decade.

Originally released in 2001 through Island Music/Universal, United by Fate would go on to become a benchmark for the post-hardcore genre, continuing to gain new fans years after the band's hiatus in 2003 thanks to the record's critical and commercial acclaim.

Due out November 12, the vinyl reissue is being handled by SRC Vinyl. According to the press release, the album was restored to a 24bit/44.1 hertz high-fidelity from its original analog source and was later pressed onto 180-gram audiophile vinyl "using lacquers cut by the legendary Stan Ricker (the Beatles, Pink Floyd, Moscow Symphony Orchestra)," who made "full use of the dynamic range that only high quality vinyl can provide."

On top of the album's original 14 tracks, the deluxe reissue will also feature four previously unreleased tunes that have never been released in North America. The album will be pressed on standard black wax, with alternate coloured versions available on blue and white/blue swirl vinyl, which will be limited to just 500 special-edition copies each.

Peruse United by Fate's full tracklisting below while listening to album rarity "Sweet" at the bottom of the page.

The United by Fate reissue won't hit shelves until November 12, but you can pre-order it in the meantime over here.

United by Fate:

1. Travel by Telephone
2. Everything Has Its Point
3. High Acetate
4. Undercovers On
5. Good Things
6. Used for Glue
7. World Invitational
8. The Switch
9. Holding Sand
10. My Echo
11. Favorite Star
12. So Down On
13. Hooligans for Life

Bonus Tracks:

1. Sweet
2. Get Centered
3. Grunge Model
4. Accept A Compliment
5. On Vacations