Prophets of Rage Break Up

B-Real: "It's been a great time and great memories in a short time"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Nov 4, 2019

Following news of Rage Against the Machine's reunion, spinoff group Prophets of Rage have announced they are breaking up.

The supergroup — comprising members of Rage Against the Machine and Audioslave, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill — called it quits over the weekend.

Cypress Hill's B-Real took to Instagram to thank the group's unceasing fanbase in the wake of their breakup, as well as to praise his (now former) bandmates.

"I want to say thank you to the fans that supported @prophetsofrage for the time we've been rocking together," he said in the post. "It's been an honor to rock stages and people of all ages with these guys. It's been a great time and great memories in a short time."

Meanwhile, Public Enemy's Chuck D reflected on his time with the group in a Twitter post, having created an outlet for "powering a statement for 1000 days," stating that his time with Prophets of Rage "was a honorable truth mission in the hours of chaos from the jump."

See both of those posts below.

News of the breakup follows the announcement of Rage Against the Machine's 2020 reunion. The band are confirmed to have scheduled five new tour dates early next year. Find those dates here.

Prophets of Rage released a new single earlier this year titled "Made with Hate." Their self-titled debut record was released back in 2017. The band — consisting of B-Real, Chuck D, Tom Morello, Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk — formed back in 2016. They notably did not include Rage Against the Machine's frontman Zack De La Rocha.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage