The Promise Ring Bring 'Nothing Feels Good' Back to Vinyl

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Sep 16, 2015

Nothing feels good like a brand new pressing of a classic record. As such, sorta-reunited Midwest emo crew the Promise Ring are bringing their 1997 sophomore effort, Nothing Feels Good, back to vinyl. A reissue lands October 30 via Jade Tree.

The album will make its way back onto vinyl this fall, 18 years after the first and only other pressing. At the time, it landed on traditional black vinyl and a host of other colourways, with the standard edition now fetching over $70 on resale sites like Discogs.

Additionally, Nothing Feels Good will be given its first-ever cassette release. Both versions are straight-up represses, with nothing added to the original 12-song tracklisting.

Nothing Feels Good was the Milwaukee-based Promise Ring's breakthrough record. It followed a few 7-inch releases and their 1996 full-length debut, 30° Everywhere. Original bassist Scott Beschta played on the LP but exited the act following the recording sessions, with replacement Tim Burton sitting in for promo pics and tour dates behind the release. Burton's run with the band wasn't long, and he was replaced Scott Schoenbeck by the time the band recorded their 1998 EP, Boys + Girls.

A press release describes Nothing Feels Good as the Promise Ring's "masterwork," adding that it brought the quartet to "new heights with a mix of power pop and indie rock." The record is also notable for featuring "Why Did Ever We Meet," a single that received video airplay back in the '90s. An earlier version of "Pink Chimneys" had appeared on the (Don't Forget To) Breathe compilation in 1997.

Down below, you'll find some recently surfaced footage of the band playing New York's Bowery Ballroom in 2000, during their tour behind 1999's Very Emergency.

In related news, Promise Ring vocalist/guitarist Dave Von Bohlen and drummer Dan Didier's current project, Maritime have a new album called Magnetic Bodies/Maps of Bones coming out October 16 via Dangerbird Records. It's their first full-length offering in four years.

Nothing Feels Good:

1. Is This Thing On?
2. Perfect Lines
3. Red & Blue Jeans
4. Why Did Ever We Meet
5. Make Me A Chevy
6. How Nothing Feels
7. A Broken Tenor
8. Raspberry Rush
9. Nothing Feels Good
10. Pink Chimneys
11. B Is For Bethlehem
12. Forget Me

Latest Coverage