Philip Sportel Wins 2016 Prism Prize for Kalle Mattson's "Avalanche" Video

Philip Sportel Wins 2016 Prism Prize for Kalle Mattson's 'Avalanche' Video
Now in its fourth year, the annual Prism Prize has crowned its 2016 grand prize winner: Philip Sportel for Kalle Mattson's "Avalanche" video.

The $10,000 award for Canada's best music video was handed out tonight (May 15) in Toronto during a ceremony at TIFF Bell Lightbox. This follows a previous longlist of 20 finalists, which were further narrowed down to 10 finalists.

Along with Sportel's victory, the Prism Prize Audience Award was presented to director Eva Michon for Death From Above 1979's "Virgins." Also, as previously reported, Director X won the Prism Prize Special Achievement Award, which honours "a Canadian music video artist for their artistic achievements and exceptional contribution to music video art on a world stage." Kristof Brandl, meanwhile, took home the Arthur Lipsett Award, established to "recognize an innovative and unique approach to music video art."

Last year's grand prize went to Chad VanGaalen for Timber Timbre's "Beat the Drum Slowly" video.

You can revisit the list of 2016 finalists below, where you'll also find the vidoes for both Sportel's winning "Avalanche" from Kalle Mattson and Death From Above 1979's "Virgins" by Eva Michon.

Plans for the 2017 Prism Prize will be announced later this year.

2016 Prism Prize Finalists:

A Tribe Called Red - "Suplex" (Director: Jon Riera)
Braids - "Miniskirt" (Director: Kevan Funk)
Death From Above 1979 - "Virgins" (Director: Eva Michon)
Drake - "Hotline Bling" (Director: Director X)
The Elwins - "So Down Low" (Director: Alan Poon)
Fast Romantics - "Julia" (Director: Matthew Angus)
Grimes - "Flesh Without Blood" (Director: Grimes)
Harrison - "How Can It Be" (Director: Maxime Lamontagne)
Kalle Mattson - "Avalanche" (Director: Philip Sportel)
Monogrenade - "Le Fantôme" (Director: Kristof Brandl)