Nicholas Krgovich Announces 'Pasadena Afternoon' Covers Album

Featuring versions of songs by Veda Hille, Marker Starling, Lake, Little Wings and more
Nicholas Krgovich Announces 'Pasadena Afternoon' Covers Album
Fresh off the collaborative LP from Shabason, Krgovich & Harris, Vancouver songwriter Nicholas Krgovich is back with another album. The covers collection Pasadena Afternoon will be released digitally and on cassette December 4 via Moone Records.

The album was recorded in a single day this past February. It features a one-off band Krgovich assembled for a show opening for Chris Cohen. The small ensemble — who are billed here as Nicholas Krgovich & Friends — learned a handful of cover songs written by Veda Hille, Marker Starling, Lake, Little Wings, Dear Nora, Ruth Garbus and Chris Cohen. These tunes make up Pasadena Afternoon's nine-song tracklist.

Krgovich said in a statement, "I'm so glad we made this thing! It feels good to celebrate the work of your friends, and to make something so easy breezy. Hope you like it!"

The songs were recorded by Phil Hartunian at Tropico Beauty in Glendale, CA. It was mixed by Jordan Koop at the Noise Floor on BC's Gabriola Island.

Below, see the tracklist and hear Krgovich's cover of Lake's "Giving and Receiving." The tape is available to pre-order on Bandcamp.

Pasadena Afternoon:

1. Giving and Receiving (Lake)
2. Plants (Veda Hille)
3. Yesterday's on My Mind (Chris Cohen)
4. Opal Elections (Ruth Garbus)
5. Time Is Now (Dear Nora)
6. Old Apocalypse Style (Little Wings)
7. Bird and the Berry (Lake)
8. Author (Marker Starling)
9. Skulls Example (Dear Nora)