​New Leonard Cohen Album 'Thanks for the Dance' Announced

Beck, Feist, Arcade Fire, the National and Damien Rice are all featured on the record
​New Leonard Cohen Album 'Thanks for the Dance' Announced
A posthumous album from Leonard Cohen will arrive this fall. It's called Thanks for the Dance, and it's due out November 22 via Sony Music.
The album was produced by Cohen's son, Adam Cohen, and it features a number of impressive guests.
Parts recorded in Berlin hear Feist and Damien Rice provide guest vocals, Arcade Fire's Richard Reed Parry play bass, the National's Bryce Dessner on guitar, Dustin O'Halloran on piano and Cohen's former bandmate Javier Mas play Cohen's own guitar.
There were also features from Beck, Jennifer Warnes, the s t a r g a z e orchestra and more recorded in Los Angeles.
In Cohen's hometown of Montreal, meanwhile, contributions were added by Daniel Lanois, Patrick Watson and the Shaar Hashomayim choir — recorded in a garage near Cohen's old house.
The first song to arrive from the album is called "The Goal," which has arrived alongside a new video. Check it out below, where you'll also find the tracklist.

As press release explains, "Thanks for the Dance is not a commemorative collection of B sides and outtakes, but an unexpected harvest of new songs, exciting and vital, a continuation of the master's final work."

In a statement, Adam Cohen said: "In composing and arranging the music for his words, we chose his most characteristic musical signatures, in this way keeping him with us. What moves me most about the album is the startled response of those who have heard it. 'Leonard lives'! they say, one after the other."
Cohen's previous album was You Want It Darker, which was released just a couple weeks before the singer-songwriter died in 2016 at the age of 82.
Thanks for the Dance:
1. Happens to the Heart
2. Moving On
3. The Night of Santiago
4. Thanks for the Dance
5. It's Torn
6. The Goal
7. Puppets
8. The Hills
9. Listen to the Hummingbird