My Morning Jacket Announce First New Album in Six Years

Preview their forthcoming self-titled effort with new single "Regularly Scheduled Programming"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Aug 24, 2021

My Morning Jacket have returned with plans for their ninth studio album. The self-titled effort will arrive on October 22 through ATO Records.

Produced and engineered by MMJ frontman Jim James at Los Angeles, CA's 64 Sound, the record marks their first since 2015. MY MORNING JACKET finds the band reinvigorated by the "hunger for exploring the most nuanced and layered existential questions," as per a release.

James elaborated in a statement:

I hope this album brings people a lot of joy and relief, especially since we've all been cooped up for so long. I know that feeling you get from driving around blasting music you love, or even lying in bed and crying to the music you love. The fact that we're able to be a part of people's lives in that way is so magical to us, and it feels really good that we're still around to keep doing that.

Today, the group have shared the album's lead single "Regularly Scheduled Programming," which arrives with its own music video co-directed by James and George Mays.

"This song really hits home for me after what we've gone through with the pandemic," James of the track in a statement. "But even before then, it felt like so many of us were trading real-life for social media, trading our own stories for the storylines on TV, trading our consciousness for drugs. We need to help each other wake up to real love before it's too late."

Watch the video for "Regularly Scheduled Programming" below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.


1. Regularly Scheduled Programming
2. Love Love Love
3. In Color
4. Least Expected
5. Never in the Real World
6. The Devil's in the Details
7. Lucky to Be Alive
8. Complex
9. Out of Range, Pt. 2
10. Penny for Your Thoughts
11. I Never Could Get Enough


Latest Coverage