Mocky Taps Feist, Chilly Gonzales for 'Key Change' LP

Mocky Taps Feist, Chilly Gonzales for 'Key Change' LP
Multitalented songwriter Mocky was born in Saskatchewan, but he spent many years entrenched in Europe's music scene. These days, however, he's living in Los Angeles, and the man born Dominic Salole is preparing a new album called Key Change.

This disc is due out on June 26 through Heavy Sheet. Mocky played most of the instruments himself, and while he employed modern recording technology, he strictly avoided presets and samples. Feist played drums on "Living in the Snow" and Chilly Gonzales played keys on "Head in the Clouds," while other cuts feature strings from Miguel Atwood-Ferguson (a Flying Lotus collaborator) and vocals from Moses Sumney and Joey Dosik.

The album reportedly takes influence from the musical climates of both Berlin and Los Angeles and, according to a press release, "[reflects] the vibe of these cities' emerging underground jazz and psychedelic scene."

Mocky has a few Canadian shows coming up in July and more are promised to be added soon. Scroll past the schedule and tracklist below to hear the peaceful, Feist-aided "Living in the Snow."

Key Change:

1. Upbeat Thing
2. When Paulie Gets Mad
3. Soulful Beat
4. Weather any Storm
5. Whistlin
6. Living In The Snow
7. Late Night Interlude
8. Time Inflation (Message to R2)
9. Tomorrow Maker
10. Soulful Beat Reprise
11. Head In The Clouds
12. Hymne (For Murka)

Tour dates:

07/08 Hamilton, ON - Havn Gallery
07/09 Toronto, ON - The Drake
07/10 Montréal, QC - Resonance