Lushlife Gets Killer Mike, Ariel Pink, Marissa Nadler for New LP

Lushlife Gets Killer Mike, Ariel Pink, Marissa Nadler for New LP
A decade ago, Philly rapper-producer Lushlife (a.k.a Raj Haldar) made his mark with a Kanye West/Beach Boys mashup album called West Sounds. These days, instead of remixing popular songs, he's getting high-profile stars to make original feature appearances, as there are a number of notable guests on the upcoming Ritualize.

The album will be out on February 16 through Western Vinyl. Contributors to its 12-song tracklist include Killer Mike, Ariel Pink, Marissa Nadler, RJD2, I Break Horses and more. The album was co-produced by CSLSX during months trips between Los Angeles and Philadelphia.

Lushlife issued the following statement about the album:

After toiling over two self-produced LPs in the last half-decade, I felt compelled to bring on an outside production team for Ritualize. Not only did I want to broaden the musical palette, but I felt like the group production effort would give me a depth of focus on lyrical content and emotion that I hadn't previously been afforded.

Scroll past the tracklist below to hear "Body Double," which debuted on Vampire Weekend frontman Ezra Koenig's Beats 1 show Time Crisis. The song is a twinkling, catchily thumping electro-rap track, and Koenig during the preamble explains that Lushlife was a high school friend of his.

This follows Lushlife's 2012 album Plateau Vision.


1. Totally Mutual Feeling
2. The Waking World (ft. I Break Horses)
3. Hong Kong (Lady of Love) (ft. Ariel Pink)
4. Incantation (ft. Deniro Farrar)
5. Undress Me in the Temple
6. Body Double
7. Toynbee Suite (ft. RJD2, Nightlands, Yikes the Zero)
8. Strawberry Mansion (ft. Freeway)
9. This Ecstatic Cult (ft. Killer Mike)
10. Burt Reynolds (Desert Visions)
11. Integration Loop (ft. Marissa Nadler)
12. Ritualize