Liam Finn Announces New Solo LP 'The Nihilist'

Liam Finn Announces New Solo LP 'The Nihilist'
It's been almost three years since Kiwi-bred pop player Liam Finn delivered his sophomore set FOMO, though a follow-up LP is just around the corner. The loop pedal-loving solo artist's third full-length, The Nihilist, arrives April 8 via Yep Roc.

A press release [via Spin] notes that the record was tracked in a Brooklyn studio overlooking the Manhattan skyline, with sessions yielding 12 new tracks apparently partially inspired by the setting.

"As soon as I found my own space to bunker down, the songs started taking shape," Finn said in a statement. "There was a surreal feeling created through the energy of where I was and looking over at Manhattan and seeing it as a subconscious dimension, an entity in itself where every story under the sun was happening all at once. Any fantasy or fear you have in your own mind is probably playing out in reality in Manhattan at any one time."

Ahead of the album's release, Finn is previewing the collection with a psychedelic and tender, magenta-hued a.m. daydream called "Snug as Fuck." You can bundle up with the Beatles-ish track by giving it a stream down below, where you'll also find the tracklisting. Here's hoping closing cut "Wrestle With Dad" is about putting his papa, Split Enz/Crowded House member Neil Finn, in a wickedly unbreakable figure-four leg-lock.

The Nihilist:

1. Ocean Emmanuelle
2. The Nihilist
3. Snug as Fuck
4. Helena Bonham Carter
5. Burn Up the Road
6. Drearydroop
7. Miracle Glance
8. 4 Track Stomper
9. Arrow
10. I
11. Wild Animal
12. Wrestle With Dad