Laura Marling Announces New Album 'Patterns in Repeat,' Shares Lead Single

The follow-up to 'Song for Our Daughter' arrives in October

Photo: Tamsin Topolski 

BY Kaelen BellPublished Jul 10, 2024

Laura Marling has announced the follow-up to 2020's Song for Our DaughterPatterns in Repeat arrives October 25 via Chrysalis / Partisan, and today we get lead single "Patterns."

The new song is a beautiful, shape-shifting acoustic ballad, and it finds Marling contemplating life with her new child.

In a statement about the new album, Marling said:

Over the course of nine months, I had happily prepared myself for the fact that my life as a songwriter would be put on hold while I adjusted to life as a new parent. How delighted then was I to discover that for the first few months of a baby's life, you can bounce them in a bouncer and play guitar all day. For the first time in my life, I was able to gaze into another human's eyes as I wrote. Of course, new parents feel like they discovered that feeling — one of the very finest that life has to offer, of looking into the eyes of your child and feeling the enormity of the picture as a whole, the enormity of a precarious life, celestial, fragile and extraordinary, taking its place among the comparatively banal constellation of a family. This banal constellation seems to have dominated the writing of Patterns in Repeat — the drama of the domestic sphere, the frail threads that bind a family together, the good intentions we hold onto for our progeny and the many and various ways they get lost in time. So much complexity in the banal, the caged, the everyday.

Being as I am, 34 years old, now 15 years and 8 albums into a life in song, I am unable to escape the fact that each record has served as a time-stamped chapter of my life (though some have appeared more a premonition). Now, here we are, following a youth spent desperately trying to understand what it is to be a woman, I am at the brow of the hill, with an entirely new and enormous perspective surrounding me.

Marling wrote, recorded and produced Patterns in Repeat at her home studio in London. The album was co-produced by Dom Monks with assistance from Rob Moose.

Check out "Patterns" and see the Patterns in Repeat tracklist below. 

Patterns in Repeat:

1. Child of Mine
2. Patterns
3. Your Girl
4. No One's Gonna Love You Like I Can
5. The Shadows
6. Interlude
7. Caroline
8. Looking Back
9. Lullaby
10. Patterns in Repeat

Latest Coverage