Juliana Hatfield Unveils New Album 'Blood'

Hear the first single "Mouthful of Blood"
Juliana Hatfield Unveils New Album 'Blood'
Indie-rock legend Juliana Hatfield is returning with a new album called Blood. The record is due out on May 14 via American Laundromat, and you can hear the first track to be shared from the record called "Mouthful of Blood."

The album marks the 19th solo effort from Hatfield, who said of her latest: "I think these songs are a reaction to how seriously and negatively a lot of people have been affected by the past four years. But it's fun, musically. There's a lot of playing around. I didn't really have a plan when I started this project."

Considering the record was made during the pandemic, it found Hatfield changing up her usual routine.

"Usually I work in a studio," she said. "I did more than half the work in my room — with Jed [Davis] helping me to troubleshoot the technology, and helping with building and arranging some of the songs — and then I finished up with additional overdubs and mixing with engineer James Bridges at Q Division Studios in Somerville, MA."

You can get an idea of what to expect by streaming "Mouthful of Blood" below.

"I always love coming up with melodies and then trying to fit words into them — it's like doing a puzzle," she said of the track. "And I always find places to use the Mellotron flutes and strings, on every album, because those sounds are so beautiful to me. They are a nice counterpoint to the damaged lyrical content."


1. The Shame Of Love
2. Gorgon
3. Nightmary
4. Had A Dream
5. Splinter
6. Suck It Up
7. Chunks
8. Mouthful Of Blood
9. Dead Weight
10. Torture

Pre-order Blood.