Jon Hassell Readies New Album 'Seeing Through Sound'

It's a companion piece to 2018's 'Listening to Pictures'
Jon Hassell Readies New Album 'Seeing Through Sound'
American composer Jon Hassell has shared details of a new album. Seeing Through Sound (Pentimento Volume Two) arrives July 24 via Ndeya.

As the title implies, Seeing Through Sound is a companion piece to Hassell's 2018 album Listening to Pictures (Pentimento Volume One). You can find album opener "Fearless" and a trailer for the effort in the player below.

A press release explains the following of the new album:

The album is buffered by two 8-minute plus epics at the beginning and the end - the hypnotic Fearless with it's metronomic, almost Can-like rhythm, and blurry, noir-ish texture of sound emerging like car headlights from the fog; mirrored at the end of the record by the beautiful sci-fi lullaby of Timeless, a track with a vaporous, billowing quality as electronic clicks and bubbles float over a landscape of shimmering, glacially paced complexity. The bridge between those two worlds is no less compelling, from the frantic, spidery IDM sketch of Reykjavik to the collapsed-time ballad of Unknown Wish. Whilst containing seeds of classic 'fourth world' fusion, this record finds the artist still questing to create new forms and mutations of music, a thrilling window into what music could sound like in a world to come.

This past April, Hassell's friends and family launched a GoFundMe campaign to assist with financial costs of "long-term health issues."

"Jon is going through hard times now," friend and collaborator Brian Eno wrote for the campaign. "I feel that many of us owe him a debt of gratitude, so perhaps making a contribution to this fund is a way we can thank him."

Seeing Through Sound (Pentimento Volume Two)

1. Fearless
2. Moons of Titan
3. Unknown Wish
4. Delicado
5. Reykjavik
6. Cool Down Coda
7. Lunar
8. Timeless

Pre-order Seeing Through Sound (Pentimento Volume Two).