John Cale Announces 'POPtical Illusion,' His Second Album in Two Years

He's also shared the video for lead single "How We See the Light"

BY Kaelen BellPublished Mar 26, 2024

John Cale has announced POPtical Illusion, his second album in as many years and the follow-up to 2023's guest-heavy MERCY. The album is arriving June 14 on Double Six / Domino, and today, we get the video for lead single "How We See the Light."

The album finds the art-rock legend "angry, still incensed by the willful destruction that unchecked capitalists and unrepentant con men have hoisted upon the wonders of this world and the goodness of its people" and is described as a maze of synthesizers, samples, organs and pianos. The album was produced by Cale and longtime artistic partner Nita Scott.

"Can I close another chapter in the way we run our lives?" Cale sings on "How We See the Light."  The song's video, directed by Pepi Ginsberg, sees a gaggle of big-headed office workers going about their lives.

Check it out below, alongside the POPtical Illusion tracklist.

POPtical Illusion:

1. God Made Me Do It (don't ask me again)
2. Davies and Wales
3. Calling You Out
4. Edge of Reason
5. I'm Angry
6. How We See the Light
7. Company Commander
8. Setting Fires
9. Shark-Shark
10. Funkball the Brewster
11. All to the Good
12. Laughing in My Sleep
13. There Will Be No River

Latest Coverage