Gary Clark Jr. Gets Stevie Wonder, George Clinton for New Album 'JPEG RAW'

Hear four tracks from the LP ahead of its March arrival

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 26, 2024

Gary Clark Jr. has detailed his fourth studio LP. The Texas guitar hero will share JPEG RAW on March 22 via Warner Records.

On his first new album in nearly five years, Clark continues expanding his musical scope to draw from jazz and traditional music of Africa.

A release points to Clark sampling songs by Thelonious Monk and Sonny Boy Williamson, while his list of guest collaborators includes Stevie Wonder, Parliament-Funkadelic leader George Clinton, Valerie June and more. Clark and Wonder previously recorded together for the latter's 2020 single, "Where Is Our Love Song."

Ahead of the album’s arrival, Clark has shared a four-track sampler of his latest sonic direction. You can hear all of “Maktub,” “JPEG RAW,” “Hyperwave” and the Naala-assisted “This Is Who We Are” in the players below.

JPEG RAW follows Clark’s 2019 album This Land. In 2022, the artist portrayed Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup in Baz Luhrmann’s ELVIS.





1. Maktub 
3. Don’t Start (feat. Valerie June) 
4. This Is Who We Are (feat. Naala) 
5. To the End of the Earth 
6. Alone Together (feat. Keyon Harrold) 
7. What About the Children (feat. Stevie Wonder) 
8. Hearts In Retrograde 
9. Hyperwave 
10. Funk Which U (feat. George Clinton) 
11. Triumph 
12. Habits

Latest Coverage