Gang Signs Announce Debut LP for File Under: Music

BY Gregory AdamsPublished Aug 5, 2015

It's been a big day for Vancouver musician Peter Ricq. After premiering the puppet-heavy new video for his Humans project's "Ennio" single earlier today through Exclaim!, his new wave outfit Gang Signs have now revealed details behind a forthcoming LP release. Their Geist goes live October 2 through File Under: Music.

The record follows the project's self-titled EP from 2012, with a press release noting that the full-length debut is "an exercise in cinematic new wave."

It's further explained by guitarist/vocalist Ricq that, on the whole, the 10-songs that make up Geist were "written and demoed within four hours." The key thing from there, apparently, is for he, drummer Adam Fink and keyboardist/vocalist Matea Sarenac to lock into a danceable groove.

Ricq clarified, "They are purposefully written in a traditional verse, chorus, verse format, and to really make the cut they must make you want to move."

To tease the set, the band have unveiled a music video for "Mate," which stars Vancouver rap figure Tommy Genesis. You'll find a stream of the clip below, courtesy of Stereogum.

Though the date details have yet to be unveiled, a North American tour behind Geist is in the works. For now, they'll join Fucked Up and DOOMSQUAD for a show at Vancouver's WISE Hall on August 22.


1. Mate
2. Antidote
3. SW
4. LA On Monday
5. Silver
6. Back Up
7. So Long
8. Tonight
9. Heist
10. Stay Awake

Latest Coverage