Feelies' Glenn Mercer Unveils Instrumental Solo Album

Feelies' Glenn Mercer Unveils Instrumental Solo Album
As a guitarist and vocalist with the Feelies, Glenn Mercer is known for jangling pop-rock. This fall, however, he will be branching out with an instrumental album called Incidental Hum. It will be out on October 9 through Bar/None Records.

This is Mercer's second solo LP, following 2007's Wheels in Motion. In a press release, he liked the album to the Willies, which was a Feelies spinoff project that emphasized experimentation and improvisation.

Mercer said in a statement [via Spin]:

My idea for Incidental Hum was to try to create music that would evoke an atmosphere. That would, in turn, suggest images of a more specific location. I would, as an experiment, picture in my mind a scene with a particular environment and then write music to match the mood and place. Once the concept came together, I also allowed for influences from other movie soundtracks like cheesy B horror films, spaghetti Westerns, and teenage surf flicks.

Incidental Hum includes 12 original compositions plus three cover tunes: "Here Come the Warm Jets" by Brian Eno, "Third Stone from the Sun" by Jimi Hendrix, and "Somewhere over the Rainbow" from The Wizard of Oz.

According to a Discogs listing, Mercer previously released Incidental Hum as an unofficial CD-R, with copies sold at Feelies shows in 2012. Assuming that the running order is the same on this commercial edition, the tracklist is below. The original album cover is above.

Incidental Hum:

1. Hana
2. Cheyanne
3. Mobile
4. Yuma
5. Larramie
6. Moss Pt.
7. Winslow
8. Kodiak
9. Hermosa
10. 29 Palms
11. Kara Sea
12. Salem
13. Somewhere over the Rainbow (Harold Arlen cover)
14. Here Come the Warm Jets (Brian Eno cover)
15. Third Stone from the Sun (Jimi Hendrix cover)