Fake Tears Sign to Mint Records

Fake Tears Sign to Mint Records
Spooky Vancouver synth-pop pair Fake Tears recently performed at Mint Records' Christmas party (for the second consecutive year), so it doesn't come as too much of a surprise to learn that they have signed with the label.

This deal is particularly unsurprising given Larissa Loyva makes up one-half of the duo; her solo work as Kellarissa has previously come out through Mint. In recent years, she's toured as a live member of Destroyer and How to Dress Well.

As Fake Tears, Loyva is joined by Elisha May Rembold, who also fronts the more rootsy pop-rock group the Lost Lovers Brigade.

The duo are currently recording with Mint roster-mate Jay Arner. They reportedly have enough material for a full-length, but it's currently unconfirmed exactly what they will be releasing or when it will come out. They label hopes to issue something in the spring.

Last winter, Fake Tears posted a few tracks on Bandcamp and packaged them as a self-titled EP. Get a taste of their shadowy electronic pop sound below.