Ducks Ltd. Announce Debut Album 'Modern Fiction'

Watch a video for their new single "18 Cigarettes"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jul 7, 2021

Ducks Ltd. — the project led by Toronto indie rockers Tom McGreevy and Evan Lewis — have announced plans for their debut album Modern Fiction, which is due for release on October 1 via Royal Mountain/Carpark Records.

Today, the group formerly known as Ducks Unlimited shared the record's lead single "18 Cigarettes," which arrives with its own Toronto landmark-filled lyric video courtesy of director Ali Vanderkruyk.

According to a press release, the song — which features Eliza Niemi on cello — was inspired by a 1997 performance of "Don't Go Away" by Oasis.

"The thing I came to love about the song after watching that performance over and over again is that it's a song that kind of tells on itself," McGreevy explained in a statement. "It's a really raw emotional expression from someone whose capacity to talk about their feelings is stunted and they're cut up about it. '18 Cigarettes' is kind of an attempt to do a different version of what that song does."

Previously, the duo re-released their debut EP, Get Bleak, after signing to their new labels. The reissue, which arrived back in May, featured the record's original four songs followed by three new ones.

Watch their new video for "18 Cigarettes" below, where you can also find the album's tracklisting.

Modern Fiction:

1. How Lonely Are You
2. Old Times
3. 18 Cigarettes
4. Under the Rolling Moon
5. Fit to Burst
6. Patience Wearing Thin
7. Always There
8. Sullen Leering Hope
9. 'Twere Ever Thus
10. Grand Final Day

Pre-order Modern Fiction.

Latest Coverage