Complete Works of Mother Love Bone Collected in New Box Set

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Oct 17, 2016

Just a few weeks ago, '90s grunge supergroup Temple of the Dog treated their self-titled album to a deluxe reissue. Now the legendary precursor to that project, Mother Love Bone, will be celebrated in a very similar fashion.

Come November 4, a reissue set called On Earth as It Is will arrive via UMC/Stardog Records, and it will gather the complete recorded works from the famed Seattle band.

For the unfamiliar, Mother Love Bone was formed by ex-Green River members Jeff Ament, Bruce Fairweather and Stone Gossard, along with frontman Andrew Wood and Greg Gilmore. Of course, Ament and Gossard would go on to play in both Temple of the Dog and, eventually, Pearl Jam.

Sadly, Wood died of a heroin overdose in March 1990 shortly before Mother Love Bone's debut album, Apple, was scheduled for release, with his death in turn sparking the formation of Temple of the Dog.

For On Earth as It Is, the set will come as a four-disc box set on CD/DVD and digitally, as well as a vinyl package. For the CD/DVD box, the first disc will feature Apple and the Shine EP, with both records remastered for the first time by Ed Brooks at RFI Mastering. The second and third discs then gather up various B-sides, alternate takes, demos, live version and previously unreleased material. Among these highlights are Andrew Wood's demo recording of "Chloe Dancer" and a live version of "Stardog Champion" featuring Chris Cornell and Pearl Jam.

The fourth disc then comes as a DVD that features the 35-minute video The Love Bone Earth Affair, as well as the music video for "Captain Hi Top" and some never-before-seen live performances. The whole thing also comes with a 24-page booklet with lyrics, credits and photos.

As for the vinyl version, it will feature the remastered Shine EP and the Apple album, along with the 24-page booklet. It also features this bonus: "A very limited number of randomly selected vinyl box set packages will receive a rare Happy Holidays greeting card signed by each member of Mother Love Bone. These cards were uncovered from the Mother Love Bone / Love Co. deep archives."

The art for the box, which you can see above, was based on a mural Ament did on the wall of Seattle's Easy Street Records.

You can pre-order the set on CD/DVD here and the vinyl version here. That's the CD/DVD tracklist below.

On Earth as It Is:

Disc 1: Apple / Shine:

1. This Is Shangrila

2. Stardog Champion

3. Holy Roller

4. Bone China

5. Come Bite The Apple

6. Stargazer

7. Heartshine

8. Captain Hi Top

9. Man Of Golden Words

10. Capricorn Sister

11. Gentle Groove

12. Mr. Danny Boy

13. Crown Of Thorns

14. Thru Fade Away

15. Mindshaker Meltdown

16. Half Ass Monkey Boy

17. Chloe Dancer / Crown Of Thorns

Disc 2: B-sides / Alt Versions:

1. Holy Roller

2. Bone China

3. Hold Your Head Up

4. Capricorn Sister

5. Zanzibar

6. Lady Godiva Blues

7. Red Hot Shaft

8. Seasons Changing (Live at the Plant)

9. Stardog Champion (Live at the Plant)

Disc 3: B-sides / Alt Versions:

1. Lubricated Muscle Drive

2. Savwahfair Slide

3. Jumpin Jehova

4. Showdown

5. Bloodshot Ruby

6. Elijah

7. Chloe Dancer (Demo)

8. Have You Ever Kissed A Lady

9. Otherside

10. These R No Blues

11. Made Of Rainbows

12. Bloody Shame

13. One Time Fire

14. Stardog Champion (Chris Cornell and Pearl Jam live)

Disc 4: DVD:

The Love Bone Earth Affair

"Captain Hi Top" music video

"Half Ass Monkey Boy" (Live from the Oz)

"I'm In Love With My Car" (Live from the Oz) 

Latest Coverage