College Returns with 'Shanghai,' Shares Striking "Love Peas" Video

The album is the first from the 'Drive'-featured French electronic artist since 2013
College Returns with 'Shanghai,' Shares Striking 'Love Peas' Video
After getting some worldwide attention on the beloved Drive soundtrack with the Electric Youth-equipped "A Real Hero," synth-loving French artist College is returning to us with a new album. The record is called Shanghai, and it arrives on April 28 via Lakeshore Records/Invada.

The new LP marks the first full-length from David Grellier's College project since 2013's stellar Heritage album. Apparently, the LP is also taking its title very literally and promises a real change of pace for College. A press release explains, "Shanghai is an album inspired by the city itself — its culture and architecture; how it is a melting pot of many things."

In a statement, Grellier himself had this to say about the new album:

This record is a mysterious ballad in the heart of 1920s Shanghai... An invitation to travel, a tribute to the refinement and in the delicacy of a fantasized and blurry period of time, which fed the imagination of the musicians, the artists and the architects of this mythical city. Young chinese singer Hama, a Shanghai native, also honours me by singing on the title 'Love Peas.' The keys of this new adventure is in your hands.

Right now, you can in fact hear that Hama-featuring "Love Peas" below. It's a definite slow-burner but a beautiful one that shows a lot of promise for the upcoming album. Hear the track for yourself below, where you'll also find its newly shared video.

Also below, you'll find the new album's tracklist.


1. A Strange Guide
2. Bloody Palms
3. Hotel Theme Part I
4. Love Peas (ft. Hama)
5. Mister Fang
6. Is It Time
7. Typhoon Alert
8. Briefcase
9. Elizabeth Monterey
10. Mansion Road
11. Next To The River
12. Hotel Theme Part II
13. Lipstick
14. The Airport
15. 8