Christine Fellows to Release New Album Alongside Poetry Book

Christine Fellows to Release New Album Alongside Poetry Book
Burning Daylight is more than just Christine Fellows' sixth album — it's also the folksy Winnipeg songwriter's first poetry book. It will be released in a unique cross-format package on September 23 through ARP Books.

The project began in 2011 when Fellows had a residency in Dawson City, YK, and she was inspired by author Jack London's stories. She also worked on poems and collages during a National Film Board trip to Nunavut with visual artist Alicia Smith.

A press release notes that the feminist-minded collection "examines dislocation, isolation, family and frailty, reflected in our relationship with the ever-changing northern landscape." The package spans literature, music and visual art, and includes a full-length CD and a book.

Scroll past the tracklist below to stream the rustic "Call of the Wild" [via Quill & Quire].

Burning Daylight:

1. Burning Daylight
2. On Trail
3. Call of the Wild
4. Circling Darkness
5. The Sounding of the Call
6. To Build a Fire
7. Credo, White Silence
8. The Gold-Seekers
9. Feu De Joie
10. In a Far Country
11. The Last Stampede
12. Grit of Women
13. Eldorado
14. Arcadia!