Chokehold Announce First Album in Over Two Decades

Hear the Hamilton outfit's new track "2.0" now

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Mar 8, 2019

After reuniting and reissuing their back catalogue in 2015, Hamilton hardcore outfit Chokehold have announced plans to release a new album, marking their first full-length effort in nearly 25 years.

The band will deliver an LP titled With This Thread I Hold On on April 19 through Good Fight Music. Eight tracks in length, the album marks the band's first since 1995's Content with Dying

"The world seems like it's in its death throes and we are constantly bombarded with those things designed to keep us sedate and in place," vocalist Chris Logan said in a statement. "It's especially easy in these times to become victims of those traps and to feel overwhelmed and helpless. This record covers a lot of uncomfortable topics but moving forward means talking about them and exposing them. This band and this music is the thread we are holding on by, the thing that gives us a voice to be heard and hopefully allows us to make a change no matter how small."

Alongside the album announcement, Chokehold have shared new track "2.0," which you can hear in the player below. Logan reveals that the track concerns "the hardcore community and the use of social media to tear down like-minded individuals within it."

"Hardcore was built on our collective discomfort with society, but it now seems that it's promoting more dissatisfaction among ourselves," Logan elaborated. "In a way, we are losing sight of what this is supposed to be about and how we should be treating each other. Political discussion in hardcore is becoming stagnant over the fear of alienation over the difference of opinion. While the world is falling apart around us, we are happy to cut and paste and copy and share our revolution blindly because we are too busy internalizing, shaming and collecting hardcore toys. No more us versus us, it's us versus them."

With This Thread I Hold On is available for pre-order here.

With This Thread I Hold On:

1. 2.0
2. Threads
3. Profit Over People
4. G.O.D
5. Silenced
6. No Shelter
7. Instilled
8. Underneath

Latest Coverage