CFCF Returns with New Album 'Memoryland'

Preview the Montreal producer's latest with "Life Is Perfecto"
CFCF Returns with New Album 'Memoryland'
CFCF has shared details of a new album. The Montreal producer will release Memoryland on April 9 through his BGM Solutions imprint.

The 16-track Memoryland follows 2019's Liquid Colour, and is said to be an homage to producer Mike Silver's formative years of listening between 1997-2000.

Boasting features from No Joy and Kero Kero Bonito's Sarah Bonito, Memoryland both "celebrates and criticizes our own nostalgic impulses" through Silver's meld of styles including jungle, house, UK garage, trance, pop and post-grunge.

Silver shared more on the concept as follows:

I was feeling fatigued by an overabundance of 'calming', productivity-oriented music, and wanted to explore something angsty, messy, and dark, while also applying a pop sheen. I see a loose narrative across the album: your early 20's, a new city, new people, new temptations and new traps. Losing your sense of self to the whims of your surroundings and trends in music and fashion; the wrong people, and trying to dig yourself out of that hole. There's a hope of moving forward that glimmers in the last quarter of the album, but it's out of reach and seems to come at a price. And then the looking back on it later with perspective; or the looking forward to it before with anticipation. As a kid I couldn't wait to be in my 20's; in my 30's it's bittersweet to look back. That's the core of memoryland: the gulf between the fantasy, the reality, and the memory, and how we live inside each of those at different points.

"Life Is Perfecto" is the first track to arrive from Memoryland, and you can hear both the original and a remix from Taipei-based DJ and composer Point Hsu below.

Silver shared on Twitter that he wrote the song in 2015 after viewing Hou Hsiao-hsien's 2001 drama Millennium Mambo, which he calls "the catalyzing inspiration" for the album.


1. welcome.WAV
2. Life Is Perfecto
3. Nostalgic Body
4. Model Castings (feat. No Joy)
5. suburbilude
6. Punksong
7. Night/Day/Work/Home
8. Gravure Idol
9. i regret the jet-set
10. Self Service 1999
11. Slippery Plastic Euphoric
12. After the After
13. dirty
14. End-Curve of Forgetting
15. Heaven (feat. Sarah Bonito)
16. the ultraviolet room

Pre-order Memoryland.