Cattle Decapitation Detail New Album 'Terrasite'

The band's ninth full-length arrives in May

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 11, 2023

Fresh off touring North America with Amon Amarth, Cattle Decapitation have shared details of their ninth studio album. The California outfit will share new album Terrasite on May 12 via Metal Blade Records.

Following 2019's Death AtlasTerrasite finds Cattle Decapitation once again charting a course forward with producer Dave Otero, toward a future that will see the rise of "Humanity 2.0."

As vocalist Travis Ryan explains in a release [via Lambgoat], "Our previous album, Death Atlas, left the world blackened and lifeless... or so we thought. It turns out that the carbon-encrusted bodies that adorned the album's layout and music video (and that resemble the victims of Pompeii that were frozen in time by the Mt. Vesuvius disaster of 79 A.D.) were actually more of a cocoon stage for something much more vicious to come: Humanity 2.0."

Of course, you'll gain greater understanding of what Ryan's on about with a look above at the titular creature bursting forth on the album's cover art, created by Wes Benscoter.

"On the cover we see the terrasite, aka 'earth-eater,' molting from its ootheca," Ryan continues. "Having lived the tortuous existence of being a human, they have now re-emerged into a new world... saddened... confused... PISSED; rebirthed as a new variant of human disease, now adapted to continue and finish the utter ravaging of its home planet, Earth."

Just how pissed are these creatures? Very, based on tracklist inclusions like "Terrasitic Adaptation," "Scourge of the Offspring," "Dead End Residents" and "Just Another Body." 

Cattle Decapitation previously debuted "We Eat Our Young" during stops on their aforementioned tour with Amon Amarth, and you can hear their live version from the trek's opening date in Las Vegas below.


1. Terrasitic Adaptation
2. We Eat Our Young
3. Scourge of the Offspring
4. The Insignificants
5. The Storm Upstairs
6. …And the World Will Go on Without You
7. A Photic Doom
8. Dead End Residents
9. Solastalgia
10. Just Another Body

Latest Coverage