Caroline Polachek Drops 'Desire, I Want to Turn Into You: Everasking Edition'

A Valentine's Day gift

BY Kaelen BellPublished Feb 14, 2024

As promised, Caroline Polachek is celebrating Valentine’s Day with some new music — in celebration of the one-year anniversary of Desire, I Want to Turn Into You, Polachek has shared the Everasking Edition, a deluxe version of her sophomore solo album that includes seven new tracks.

The newbies include the previously shared “Dang” and Weyes Blood version of “Butterfly Net,” alongside an acoustic version of “I Believe,” covers of Operating Theatre’s “Spring Is Coming with a Strawberry in the Mouth” and Default Genders’ “Pharmacoma (for Ben Deitz)” (which Polachek has renamed “Coma”), plus new songs “Gambler’s Prayer” and “Meanwhile.” 

“Coma” is an extended mix of Default Genders’ original track, and it finds Polachek singing over breakneck drum & bass, while “Gambler’s Prayer” exists somewhere in the low-key psychedelic of “Butterfly Net” and “Blood and Butter.” “Meanwhile” is an eerie ghost of a spoken-word song that clocks in at under two minutes. 

Desire, I Want to Turn Into You was our No. 1 album of 2023, and these new songs add some exciting new dimension to Polachek’s texture-rich world. You can stream the whole thing below.


Desire, I Want to Turn Into You: Everasking Edition:

1. Welcome to My Island
2. Pretty in Possible
3. Bunny Is a Rider
4. Sunset
5. Crude Drawing of an Angel
6. I Believe
7. Fly to You (feat. Grimes and Dido)
8. Blood and Butter
9. Hopedrunk Everasking
10. Butterfly Net
11. Smoke
12. Billions
13. Dang 
14. Spring Is Coming with a Strawberry in the Mouth
15. Butterfly Net (feat. Weyes Blood)
16. Meanwhile
17. Coma
18. Gambler’s Prayer
19. I Believe (Acoustic Version)

Latest Coverage