Black Country, New Road Detail Sophomore Album 'Ants from Up There'

The LP's first single takes its name from 'Warhammer 40,000'
Black Country, New Road Detail Sophomore Album 'Ants from Up There'
After making their debut earlier this year with the Mercury Prize-nominated For the First Time, English outfit Black Country, New Road have announced their sophomore album. The band will deliver Ants from Up There on February 4 via Ninja Tune.

The 10-song Ants from Up There features inclusions titled "Bread Song," "The Place Where He Inserted the Blade" and "Chaos Space Marine," the last of which arrives alongside today's news. You can hear the song named for the Warhammer 40,000 miniatures below.

"We threw in every idea anyone had with that song," frontman Isaac Wood said of "Chaos Space Marine." "So the making of it was a really fast, whimsical approach — like throwing all the shit at the wall and just letting everything stick."

As previously reported, Black Country, New Road are set to play Montreal on their first-ever North American tour in 2022. Read Exclaim!'s review of For the First Time.

Ants from Up There is now available for pre-order.

Ants from Up There:

1. Intro
2. Chaos Space Marine
3. Concorde
4. Bread Song
5. Good Will Hunting
6. Haldern
7. Mark's Theme
8. The Place Where He Inserted the Blade
9. Snow Globes
10. Basketball Shoes