AC/DC Finally Confirm Their 2020 Lineup

Brian Johnson, Phil Rudd and Cliff Williams are all back in black

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Sep 30, 2020

Every day, we're getting more and more pieces surrounding AC/DC's hugely anticipated new album, and we now finally have the confirmed band lineup.

As previously suspected, AC/DC at last officially announced that frontman Brian Johnson is returning to the band, along with drummer Phil Rudd and bassist Cliff Williams.

Ending all speculation, the group shared a very self-explanatory photo on their social media, showing all three members are back alongside guitarists Angus Young and nephew Stevie Young (who took over for the late Malcolm Young in 2015).

The confirmation follows recently leaked images showing off the current lineup. It also follows AC/DC sharing what many believe to be their new album title; earlier this week, they launched, which also called on fans to "Power Up" while the group started promoting the #PWRUP hashtag.

AC/DC have also been teasing their return with some red lightning bolt images. So at this rate, we should be getting a proper announcement any day now. 

AC/DC's most recent album remains 2014's Rock or Bust, though rumours of a new album have been circulating since 2018. The effort is said to feature unused guitar tracks from Malcolm Young.

Latest Coverage