ABBA Return with 'Voyage'

The Swedish group have reunited 40 years after the release of their last album

BY Allie GregoryPublished Sep 2, 2021

After seeing a significant viral moment on TikTok recently, ABBA have taken the hint that their fans have been dropping for going on 40 years — and so, more ABBA is officially on the way. Today, we're getting a hint of what's to come with a special live event.

Four decades after their last studio album, The Visitors, the Swedish superstars have returned with Voyage, announcing the new record during a YouTube livestream event today in London. As per the announcement today, the record is officially due to arrive on November 6.

Early in the stream, the group also premiered "I Still Have Faith in You," the album's first new single. Toward the end of the stream, they also shared "Don't Shut Me Down" from the record. Both songs are now available to stream, while the other eight are forthcoming.

"It's been a while since we made music together," the band said in a statement. "Almost 40 years, actually. We took a break in the spring of 1982 and now we've decided it's time to end it. They say it's foolhardy to wait more than 40 years between albums, so we've recorded a follow-up to The Visitors. We simply call it Voyage and we're truly sailing in uncharted waters."

ABBA also shed light on their long-awaited digital avatar project, which will find the group recreated as their younger selves for a hybrid virtual performance project. Their first digital concert will take place on May 27, 2022, at a newly built venue at London's Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

Leading up to its premiere, the group — now in their 70s — ushered in their new era with massive projections set up across the world, including spots in Toronto and Vancouver, advertising Voyage. Digital trucks advertising the project were also stationed in Montreal and Calgary today.

In 2020, the group reunited in London to work on new material. Back in 2019, Björn Ulvaeus revealed that ABBA would definitely be releasing new music. A year before that, the group revealed that they would reunite to conceptualize the avatar project.

Witness the Voyage experience unfold in the player below, where you can also hear the group's two new singles and see the album's tracklisting.


1. I Still Have Faith in You
2. When You Danced with Me
3. Little Things
4. Don't Shut Me Down
5. Just a Notion
6. I Can Be That Woman
7. Keep an Eye on Dan
8. Bumble Bee
9. No Doubt About It
10. Ode to Freedom

Pre-order Voyage.

Latest Coverage