Wild Nothing Lives a 'Life of Pause' on New LP

Wild Nothing Lives a 'Life of Pause' on New LP
Brooklyn-based musician Jake Tatum is ready to revive his Wild Nothing project for a new LP next year. Following up 2013's Empty Estate EP, a new album titled Life on Pause is due out on February 19 through Captured Tracks.
It marks Tatum's third full-length under the moniker and hears him making a pointed effort to differentiate the new music from Wild Nothing's previous releases.
"I desperately wanted for this to be the kind of record that would displace me," he said in a press release. "I'm terrified by the idea of being any one thing, or being of any one genre. And whether or not I accomplish that, I know that my only hope of getting there is to constantly reinvent. That reinvention doesn't need to be drastic, but every new record has to have it's own identity, and it has to have a separate set of goals from what came before."
To achieve a new sound, Tatum paired up with producer Thom Monahan (Devandra Banhart, Beachwood Sparks). They recorded in Sweden with Peter, Bjorn and John drummer John Ericsson and Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra percussionist TK, while sessions at Monahan's California home roped in Medicine guitarist Brad Laner and a "crew of saxophonists."
The results range from the "hypnotic polyrhythms of 'Reichpop' to the sugary howl of 'Japanese Alice' to the hallucinogenic R&B of 'A Woman's Wisdom.'" You can hear a sampling of Wild Nothing's newest sonic incarnation by listening to a pair of brand new tunes titled "To Know You" and "TV Queen" in the player below. Scroll past the full Life of Pause tracklisting to give them a listen.
Life of Pause:
1. Reichpop
2. Lady Blue
3. A Woman's Wisdom
4. Japanese Alice
5.Life of Pause
6. Alien
7. To Know You
8. Adore
9. TV Queen
10. Whenever I
11. Love Underneath My Thumb