Voivod Announce Anniversary Album 'Morgöth Tales'

The album celebrates the last 40 years together as a band

BY Emilie Richardson-DupuisPublished May 19, 2023

Quebecois heavy metal vets Voivod will be releasing a 40th anniversary album Morgöth Tales on July 21 via Century Media Records

The album is a revisiting of the band's history, made up mostly of re-recordings. Voivod drummer Michel "Away" Langevin said in a statement, "Morgöth Tales covers 40 years of space exploration. It was really exciting for us to revisit a more obscure part of the Voïvod catalogue."

The band are previewing the record today with "Nuage Fractal," originally featured on their 1991 album Angel Rat. Bassist Dominic "Rocky" Laroche said "Nuage Fractal" represents that unique era of the band. 

The title track — which the band wrote while on tour last year — is the only brand-new song on the album. Langevin said the song, which has yet to be released, represents their new, more experimental style "with a twist."

Check out the lyric video for "Nuage Fractal" and the full tracklist for Morgöth Tales below. 

Morgöth Tales:

1. Condemned to the Gallows (2023 Version) [Originally on Metal Massacre V Compilation, 1984]
2. Thrashing Rage (2023 Version) [Originally on Rrröööaaarrr, 1986]
3. Killing Technology (2023 Version) [Originally on Killing Technology, 1987]
4. Macrosolutions to Megaproblems (2023 Version) [Originally on Dimension Hatröss, 1988] 
5. Pre-Ignition (2023 Version) [Originally on Nothingface, 1989]
6. Nuage Fractal (2023 Version) [Originally on Angel Rat, 1991]
7. Fix My Heart (2023 Version) [Originally on The Outer Limits, 1993]
8. Rise (2023 Version, feat. Eric Forrest) [Originally on Phobos, 1997]
9. Rebel Robot (2023 Version, feat. Jason Newsted) [Originally on Voivod, 2003]
10. Morgöth Tales [New Song]

Latest Coverage