Violent Femmes Announce New Album 'Hotel Last Resort'

Hear its title track featuring Television's Tom Verlaine

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Apr 30, 2019

Violent Femmes have announced the band are returning with a new album. Titled Hotel Last Resort, the record arrives on July 26 via [PIAS].

For a taste of the album, we've already got the title track "Hotel Last Resort," which features Television legend Tom Verlaine. You can check it out via a lyric video below.

"We didn't really give him much instruction," Violent Femmes bassist Brian Ritchie said of Verlaine, "but he did exactly what we hoped he'd do. He clearly has an affinity for the song. He must've really clued in on the lyrics and he really interpreted them with a guitar."

Singer Gordon Gano added, "One of the greatest thrills of a long recording career is getting Tom Verlaine to play on one of our songs. It's just amazing to hear that sound."

Hotel Last Resort marks the follow-up to 2016's We Can Do Anything and the band's 10th album overall. In addition to Verlaine, pro skateboarder Stefan Janoski also guests on the upcoming record.

"I think it's probably the best one we've made since [1984's] Hallowed Ground," Ritchie said. "Which is a long time. It's just a very focused album, the songs all hold together. It's a classic album, in the sense that people should actually sit down and listen to the whole thing. It's not too long. It's short, it's punchy, it's solid, it's to the point, goes a few different directions but it always comes back to the core approach and then it's over. Hopefully you'll think 'I want to hear that again.'"

Violent Femmes have a series of U.S. dates coming up, and you can see all those here.

You can pre-order the new album here.

Hotel Last Resort:

1. Another Chorus
2. I Get What I Want
3. I'm Nothing (ft. Stefan Janoski)
4. Adam Was A Man
5. Not Ok
6. Hotel Last Resort (ft. Tom Verlaine)
7. Everlasting You
8. It's All Or Nothing
9. I'm Not Gonna Cry
10. This Free Ride
11. Paris To Sleep
12. Sleepin' At The Meetin'
13. God Bless America

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage