Tim Hecker Scores 'The North Water' Limited Series Featuring Colin Farrell

It's the latest from director-writer Andrew Haigh, based on the Ian McGuire novel

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Sep 9, 2021

Canadian electronic musician Tim Hecker is bringing his icy analog synth stylings to director-writer Andrew Haigh's (45 Years) limited series The North Water — based on Ian McGuire's 2016 novel of the same name.

Set in 1859, The North Water centres around a whaling expedition that goes awry. The AMC+ series is led by disgraced army surgeon and ship medic played by Jack O'Connell, alongside Colin Farrell's rabble-rouser harpoonist character.

"The score for The North Water was written just before and during the pandemic in 2020, mostly over arguably one of the darkest winters of some memory in Montreal," said Hecker [via BrooklynVegan], who is originally from Vancouver.

"The music was an attempt to add depth and texture to a five-hour doomed arctic journey that charts a trajectory from hardened optimism into abject futility," the musician explained. "We worked with a primary palette of synthesizers, electronics and treated cello, in rich live spaces as well as suffocating dead ones."

You can watch the trailer for the series below and hear Hecker's ominous opening track "Seasick" ahead of the score's arrival in full tomorrow (September 10) via Invada/Lakeshore.

Earlier this year, Hecker pledged his support of Musicians for Palestine alongside Rage Against the Machine, GY!BE and Roger Waters in an open letter.

The North Water (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack):

1. Seasick
2. First on Deck
3. Delirious
4. Seasick II
5. Left on the Ice
6. Our First Whale
7. Ice Row
8. It's a Mistake to Think Too Much
9. The Warmth of Drax
10. Winter's Coming
11. Loot
12. A Breather
13. Seasick III
14. Twinkle in the Wasteland
15. Starting Over Again

Pre-save The North Water (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack).

Latest Coverage