The Smile Announce Sophomore Album 'Wall of Eyes,' Share Title Track

The new music video was directed by Paul Thomas Anderson

BY Alex HudsonPublished Nov 13, 2023

After nearly a year of teasers and a single back in June, the Smile have announced their second album. Wall of Eyes is out January 26 through XL Recordings.

To accompany the announcement, the trio of Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Tom Skinner have shared the title track along with a music video directed by Paul Thomas Anderson.

The album was recorded between Oxford and London's Abbey Road Studios. It was produced and mixed by Sam Petts-Davies — a departure from Yorke and Radiohead's usual go-to collaborator, Nigel Godrich. Petts-Davies previously co-produced Yorke's Suspiria soundtrack. Strings come courtesy of the London Contemporary Orchestra.

See the eight-song tracklist for Wall of Eyes below. This year's "Bending Hectic" shows up as the seventh track. The album is available to pre-order here. The Smile will be touring in 2024, but all their tour dates are in Europe so far.

Interestingly, the promotional materials for Radiohead's 2010 album The King of Limbs featured a poem seemingly titled "Wall of Ice," which contained the phrase "wall of eyes." There were rumours at the time that Radiohead would be releasing an album or EP titled Wall of Ice.

Wall of Eyes:

1. Wall of Eyes 
2. Teleharmonic  
3. Read the Room 
4. Under Our Pillows 
5. Friend of a Friend 
6. I Quit 
7. Bending Hectic  
8. You Know Me! 

Latest Coverage