The Damned Confront 'Evil Spirits' with Their First Album in 10 Years

You can now hear the new song "Standing on the Edge of Tomorrow" from the Tony Visconti-produced record

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Jan 22, 2018

After signalling the arrival of a new album with a PledgeMusic campaign back in 2016, the Damned have lifted the curtain on their 11th studio album.

Titled Evil Spirits, the full-length will arrive April 13 through Search and Destroy/Spinefarm. Produced by David Bowie collaborator Tony Visconti, it marks the first full-length effort from the London punks since 2008's So, Who's Paranoid?

"We deliberately recorded the album retro style — the same way our debut album was made, basically," guitarist Captain Sensible previously said of the album [via NME].

He continued: "There's something wonderful about the seventies sounds; glam, rock and punk records, they all sound so great and Tony specializes in beautifully crafted old school production. He had us all playing live, bashing it out in the same room with a focus on getting the initial band version of each song as close as possible to the finished thing."

The band have shared album opener "Standing on the Edge of Tomorrow" ahead of release, which you can hear in the player below. Evil Spirits is available for pre-order on CD and vinyl here.

Evil Spirits:

1. Standing On the Edge Of Tomorrow
2. Devil In Disguise
3. We're So Nice
4. Look Left
5. Evil Spirits
6. Shadow Evocation
7. Sonar Deceit
8. Procrastination
9. Daily Liar
10. I Don't Care

Latest Coverage