Suzie Ungerleider Details First Album Under Given Name

'My Name Is Suzie Ungerleider' is her first full-length since dropping the Oh Susanna moniker

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished Apr 9, 2021

Having ditched her Oh Susanna monikerSuzie Ungerleider has now detailed her first new album under her given name. The Canadian singer-songwriter will share My Name Is Suzie Ungerleider on August 13 through MVKA.

Produced by Jim Bryson, the 10-song My Name Is Suzie Ungerleider is said to be "a collection of new compositions that refresh and redefine who Suzie Ungerleider is." The album's "Summerbaby" finds her writing to her daughter as an older and wiser artist and mother, while "Hearts" is penned form the perspective of an adolescent identity crisis.

Arriving today is "Baby Blues," written about how traumatic events witnessed at a young age can haunt and indeed shape our older selves. Of her latest's subject matter, Ungerleider offered, "Like ghosts, sometimes you just need to just sit with them, feel their power, and, because they feel seen, they release their hold on you for a little while."

As previously reported, Ungerleider dropped the Oh Susanna name in March upon learning of how its inspiration, Stephen Foster's 1848 song "Oh! Susanna," had racist lyrics and ties to Blackface minstrelsy.

"It didn't matter to me that not very many people know that the original lyrics to the song 'Oh Susanna!' are racist," she wrote in announcing her decision. "I felt that if I were to continue to use the name Oh Susanna I would be passively accepting and perpetuating its racism."

My Name is Suzie Ungerleider:

1. Mount Royal
2. Pumpkins
3. Summerbaby
4. Hearts
5. Baby Blues
6. Disappear
7. Sweet Little Sparrow
8. North Star Sneakers
9. Roses
10. Ships

Pre-order My Name is Suzie Ungerleider.

Latest Coverage