serpentwithfeet Announces New Album 'DEACON'

Watch his new video for the record's lead single "Fellowship"

BY Allie GregoryPublished Jan 25, 2021

With his 2020 EP Apparition in the books, serpentwithfeet has announced plans to return with a full-length record titled DEACON this year. The artist's sophomore LP will arrive through Secretly Canadian on March 26.

The album was recorded following a move to Los Angeles, where serpentwithfeet experienced a new kind of tranquillity. For this album, he decided to exclude any and all songs about heartbreak, and to take more risks lyrically.

"​I originally approached this project wanting to make something that felt very sensuous. Something a lot softer, a lot more gentle than my previous work," he explained in a statement. ​

The album title — DEACON — comes from the Christian figure who helps maintain order within the church and himself. "​I wanted to create something that felt calm and restrained. This was my way of tapping into the energy many deacons possess,​" added serpent.

Today, the artist has shared the lead single from the record, "Fellowship." The song — co-written and co-produced by serpent with ​Sampha​ and ​Lil Silva​ — arrives alongside a new Kordae Jatafa Henry-directed video, which shows the artist and his partner on a beach.

"​I dedicate 'Fellowship' to anyone who has had a good friend or been a good friend," he said.

Watch the video for "Fellowship" below, where you can also find the record's tracklisting.


1. Hyacinth
2. Same Size Shoe
3. Malik
4. Amir
5. Dawn
6. Sailors' Superstition
7. Heart Storm (ft. NAO)
8. Wood Boy
9. Derrick's Beard
10. Old & Fine
11. Fellowship

Pre-order DEACON

Latest Coverage