Screeching Weasel Return with Two-Part Rock Opera

Screeching Weasel Return with Two-Part Rock Opera
It's been four years since long-running pop punk act Screeching Weasel released First World Manifesto for Fat Wreck. The band's relationship with that label has since soured, so they're now working with Recess Records. The label kicked off their relationship with Screeching Weasel with the Carnival of Schadenfreude EP, and they'll keep the relationship going with a new full-length.

The release is called Baby Fat Act 1, and as its title suggests it's the first part of a lengthy series. As detailed on Indiegogo, where the project raised an impressive $40,000 US, the album has been in the works since 2011, and is a two-part rock opera.

"It's not a rock opera in the traditional sense — the ones done by bands in the 70s seem to me to be concept records — but an actual opera with a linear narrative, featuring different singers portraying different characters," the band's Ben Weasel writes. "Let's face it — rock in general and punk in particular has more rules than the Taliban, and they always lead to boring music. If we brought this idea to the average label they'd try to get us to make a traditional record."

Act 1 features 26 new Screeching Weasel songs. Its tracklisting is available below, along with a stream of the new song "Kewpie Doll." The full album will arrive on May 26 and can be pre-ordered here. Recess will issue Act 2 in 2017.

In addition, Screeching Weasel have a handful of North American shows in the works, including a Vancouver stop with Bremerton, WA skate punk heroes MxPx. The full itinerary is available below.

Baby Fat Act 1:

1. Il Tremendo Fantasma (Baby Fat Overture)
2. Attention!
3. So Long, Mojo
4. Tower Of Talent
5. All Winter Long
6. I've Got VD
7. Kewpie Doll
8. The Entourage
9. Baby Fat's Got A Girlfriend
10. God Damn You
11. Satan Leapt
12. Things Aren't So Bad After All
13. Living Hell
14. Thine Eyes Of Mercy
15. Creeping In Silence
16. Here To Stay
17. Cursed
18. In The Pale Light Of The Midnight Sun
19. Disharmony
20. I'm A Lonesome Wolf
21. Just For Now
22. Poveretta
23. We Never Knew
24. Without Belief
25. Sleeping Beauty
26. Disharmony
27. Bound To Fall

Tour dates:
06/12 Portland, OR - Crystal Ballroom *
06/13 Vancouver, BC - Commodore Ballroom *
07/24 Washington DC - Howard Theatre &
07/25 New York, NY - Webster Hall &^
07/26 Boston, MA - Royale &^
08/07 San Francisco, CA - The Regency Ballroom &^
08/08 Santa Ana, CA - The Observatory &^
08/09 San Diego, CA - The Observatory North Park &^

* with MxPx
& with the Queers
^ with the Mr. T Experience