Nothing Return with New Album 'Dance on the Blacktop'

Watch a video for opener "Zero Day" now
Nothing Return with New Album 'Dance on the Blacktop'
After sharing the Tired of Tomorrow LP in 2016, Nothing have lifted the curtain on their third studio album.

Titled Dance on the Blacktop, the band's latest arrives through Relapse on August 24. The album was produced by John Agnello (Dinosaur Jr. Breeders, Sonic Youth) at Dreamland Studios in Woodstock, NY.

The title of the nine-track disc comes from prison slang meaning a fight or hit during outside recreation hours, used in the works of Donald Goines and Iceberg Slim. 

Alongside the announcement, the band have shared a taste of what's to come from the disc with opener "Zero Day," which arrives via a video. You can take that in below.

"'Zero Day' refers to the amount of difficulty a person faces when attempting to close the door on all sense, meaning, or value when thinking on our existence is hard to put in words, but to me it has always been the latter," Palermo explained in a statement. "I've laid awake countless nights contemplating human life, its hostile uselessness, and why I'm one of the few who choose to see it that way yet manage to move onward. So I suppose in that sense 'Zero Day' is a song of paradoxical enlightenment."

Dance on the Blacktop is available for pre-order in digital and physical formats here. That's the album cover above.

Dance on the Blacktop:

1. Zero Day
2. Blue Line Baby
3. You Wind Me Up
4. Plastic Migraine
5. Us/We/Are
6. Hail On Palace Pier
7. I Hate The Flowers
8. The Carpenters Son
9. (HOPE) Is Just Another Word With A Hole In It