Nathan Fake Returns with 'Providence' LP, Shares New Track with Braids' Raphaelle

Nathan Fake Returns with 'Providence' LP, Shares New Track with Braids' Raphaelle
Nathan Fake snuck out his DEGREELESSNESS EP before the end of 2016, and the British producer has now announced plans for a new full-length. Titled Providence, the record will arrive through Ninja Tune this March.

Running 12 tracks in length and marking Fake's fourth proper album, Providence is said to be his "most personal and profoundly emotional work to date," having been created in the wake of a two-year spell of writer's block brought on by a frantic tour schedule and events in his personal life, leaving him unable to compose any music at all.

The producer describes Providence as "as a massive step up both in my career and in my life in general… it felt like I'd come alive again."

The LP was recorded during the first six months of 2016 in his home, with its title referencing both the heavily featured Korg Prophecy synth and "guidance or divine guidance" that music brought to Nathan in the aforementioned trying times.

The album also marks Fake's first time collaborating with vocalists, one of which is Braids' Raphaelle Standell-Preston. A press release reveals she was introduced to Nathan through mutual friend Jon Hopkins, and her voice can be heard on album cut "RVK" in the player below. As shown on the earlier EP, Prurient also makes an appearance in lending vocals to "DEGREELESSNESS."

Providence will touch down on March 10 through Ninja Tune, with pre-orders available now. Read through the album's tracklisting to find "RVK" and 360-degree album trailer in the players below.


1. feelings 1
3. HoursDaysMonthsSeasons
4. DEGREELESSNESS (ft. Prurient)
5. The Equator & I
6. unen
7. SmallCityLights
8. Radio Spiritworld
10. RVK (ft. Raphaelle Standell-Preston)
12. feelings 2