Mick Jenkins Announces New Album 'Elephant in the Room'

Hear his new single with "Contacts"
Mick Jenkins Announces New Album 'Elephant in the Room'
After lending verses to Toronto-based rapper DijahSB's "Here to Dance" off Tasty Raps Vol. 1, released last month, Mick Jenkins has returned with plans his own new record, Elephant in the Room, arriving October 29 via Cinematic Music Group.

Produced by Thelonious Martin, Saba, Monte Booker and more alongside executive producers Jenkins and Lon Renzell, the record features collaborations with serpentwithfeet, Ben Hixon, Ayinde Cartman and Green Sllime.

Jenkins said of the record in a statement:

From my estranged relationship with my father to friendships that don't feel the same anymore to the even more basic idea of acknowledging that I need help. We become accustomed to allowing none progressive qualities and truths to occupy so much space in our lives simply by ignoring them, or ignoring them despite them being right in our faces! I intend to face several of those dormant issues/topics head-ons in the hopes that others can, at the very least, identify with the spaces I've grown from.

Today, the artist is offering up a new single from the effort, "Contacts," which arrives with its own video directed by Ren. The album also features the previously released "Truffles."

Watch the video for "Contacts" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

Elephant in the Room:

1. The Valley of the Shadow of Death
2. Things You Can Die For ft. Ben Hixon
3. Stiff Arm ft. Ayinde Cartman
4. Contacts
5. Scottie Pippen
6. Gucci Tried to Tell Me
7. D.U.I ft. Green Sllime
8. Speed Racer
9. Truffles
10. Is, This Cigarette
11. Reflection
12. Rug Burn ft. Serpentwithfeet