Lee Harvey Osmond Shows His 'Beautiful Scars' on New LP

Lee Harvey Osmond Shows His 'Beautiful Scars' on New LP
Onetime Junkhouse leader Tom Wilson has put on his Lee Harvey Osmond guise again, with plans to issue a third LP from the project later this spring. Wilson will show off the songs that make up his Beautiful Scars on April 7 via Latent Recordings.

A press release notes that the latest Lee Harvey Osmond effort, which follows 2013's The Folk Sinner, once again pushes songsmith Wilson's baritone vocals to the forefront, further describing his singing as a "comforting growl at the heart of a screaming world."

The album was produced at Cowboy Junkies member Michael Timmins' Roncesvalle studio in Toronto and is said to be marked with haunted ballads ("Come and Go"), as well as various passages described as "quiet, smouldering, raging, moving, and sad." Slide guitar was contributed to the set's "Hey, Hey, Hey" by Aaron Goldstein (Elliott Brood, City and Colour, Cowboy Junkies). Inspiration for the set was apparently taken from Howlin' Wolf, Mike Scott and Roy Loney.

You can catch the first preview from the set, the low-key lounge number "Blue Moon Drive," beneath the tracklisting info and a tour schedule that has Wilson opening up for West Coast blues guitarist Colin James.

In addition to the new Lee Harvey Osmond LP, it's been revealed that Wilson has landed a book deal with Random House. Info on Wilson's first book for the publisher is forthcoming.

Beautiful Scars:

1. Loser Without Your Love
2. Blue Moon Drive
3. Shake The Hand
4. Oh The Gods
5. Come And Go
6. Hey Hey Hey
7. How Does It Feel
8. Planet Love
9. Black Spruce
10. Bottom Of Our Love

Tour dates:

03/24 Vancouver, BC - Orpheum Theatre *
03/25 Victoria, BC - Royal Theatre *
03/26 Nanaimo, BC - Port Theatre *
03/28 Kelowna, BC - Kelowna Community Theatre *

03/30 Edmonton, AB - Winspear Centre *
04/07 Toronto, ON – The Dakota

  * with Colin James