Here's the 2019 Polaris Music Prize Long List

BY Exclaim! StaffPublished Jun 20, 2019

The Polaris Music Prize will once again be awarded to the best Canadian album, and the long list of contenders has just been announced.

Among the artists nominated, there are the likes of PUP, Carly Rae Jepsen, Snotty Nose Rez Kids, Tim Baker, Clairmont The Second, Operators, Marie Davidson, Fucked Up, Tanika Charles, the Dirty Nil, Charlotte Cornfield, Orville Peck, Shad, Voivod, Dilly Dally and more.
Canadian albums released between May 1, 2018, and May 31, 2019, were considered for this year's nomination process. Forty albums have been selected to remain in the running by a jury of 199 members, composed of journalists, broadcasters and bloggers.
That list will be whittled down to 10 finalists on July 16, then a grand jury of 11 will select the winning record during a gala ceremony on September 16 at the Carlu in Toronto.
The artist behind the winning album will be awarded $50,000, while the nine other short listers will receive prizes of $3,000 each.
Without further ado, check out the 40-album long list below. The long list announcement was made this afternoon in Winnipeg.
2019 Polaris Music Prize Long List:
Tim Baker - Forever Overhead
Tanika Charles - The Gumption
Clairmont The Second - Do You Drive?
Charlotte Cornfield - The Shape of Your Name
Marie Davidson - Working Class Woman
Dilly Dally - Heaven
The Dirty Nil - Master Volume
Dizzy - Baby Teeth
Elisapie - The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
FET.NAT - Le Mal
Dominique Fils-Aimé - Stay Tuned!
Fucked Up - Dose Your Dreams
Yves Jarvis - The Same But By Different Means
Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedicated
Kaia Kater - Grenades
Kimmortal - X Marks the Swirl
La Force - La Force
LAL - Dark Beings
Laurence-Anne - Première apparition
Salomé Leclerc - Les choses extérieures
Lee Harvey Osmond - Mohawk
Jean Leloup - L'étrange pays
Shay Lia - Dangerous
Les Louanges - La nuit est une panthère
Loud - Tout ça pour ça
Shawn Mendes - Shawn Mendes
Haviah Mighty - 13th Floor
Operators - Radiant Dawn
Orville Peck - Pony
Sandro Perri - In Another Life
PUP - Morbid Stuff
Lee Reed - The Steal City EP
Jessie Reyez - Being Human In Public
Shad - A Short Story About a War
Snotty Nose Rez Kids - Trapline
Alexandra Stréliski - Inscape
sydanie - 999
Voivod - The Wake
Wintersleep - In The Land Of

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage