John Lennon Gets a Sonic Makeover for New Box Set

'Gimme Some Truth. The Ultimate Mixes' will feature a collection of the Beatles legend's solo songs remixed from scratch
John Lennon Gets a Sonic Makeover for New Box Set
To celebrate what would have been John Lennon's 80th birthday, his family is treating the late Beatles legend to a new box set. But it's not simply a collection of songs you already know and love, but rather his family has remixed Lennon's work entirely from scratch to offer up what they call their highest quality renditions yet.

Arriving on Lennon's birthday of October 9 via Capitol/UMe, Gimme Some Truth. The Ultimate Mixes was executive produced by Yoko Ono and produced by their son Sean Ono Lennon. The set was also curated by the pair, with mixing coming via Paul Hicks with assistance from engineer Sam Gannon.

The new mixes included on Gimme Some Truth were done via vintage analog equipment at L.A.'s Henson Recording Studio and mastered by Alex Wharton at Abbey Road Studios. Transfers from the original tapes were used, and all the mastering was done in analog.

Multiple editions are available, but the most lavish is the Deluxe Edition that includes the 36 songs selected for the release spread across two CDs, as well as a Blu-ray audio disc with the music in high-definition stereo, 5.1 surround sound and Dolby Atmos mixes. It also includes a 124-page book, poster and two postcards.

There are also single-CD and double-CD versions coming out, a digital release, and a 4xLP vinyl set.

You can now pre-order Gimme Some Truth. The Ultimate Mixes.

To get an idea what to expect, the box set is being previewed with the "ultimate mix" of Lennon's "Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)," which you can hear below.

"John was a brilliant man with a great sense of humor and understanding," Yoko Ono Lennon writes in the Deluxe Edition's book. "He believed in being truthful and that the power of the people will change the world. And it will. All of us have the responsibility to visualize a better world for ourselves and our children. The truth is what we create. It's in our hands."

Hicks adds, "Yoko is very keen that in making The Ultimate Mixes series we achieve three things: remain faithful and respectful to the originals, ensure that the sound is generally sonically clearer overall and increase the clarity of John's vocals. It's about John,' she says. And she is right. His voice brings the biggest emotional impact to the songs."

Gimme Some Truth. The Ultimate Mixes (Deluxe Box Set):

Disc One

1. Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)
2. Cold Turkey
3. Working Class Hero
4. Isolation
5. Love
6. God
7. Power to the People
8. Imagine
9. Jealous Guy
10. Gimme Some Truth
11. Oh My Love
12. How Do You Sleep?
13. Oh Yoko!
14. Angela
15. Come Together (live)
16. Mind Games
17. Out The Blue
18. I Know (I Know)

Disc Two

1. Whatever Gets You Thru The Night
2. Bless You
3. #9 Dream
4. Steel and Glass
5. Stand By Me
6. Angel Baby
7. (Just Like) Starting Over
8. I'm Losing You
9. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
10. Watching The Wheels
11. Woman
12. Dear Yoko
13. Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him
14. Nobody Told Me
15. I'm Stepping Out
16. Grow Old With Me
17. Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
18. Give Peace a Chance

Blu-ray audio disc
All of the above thirty-six tracks, available in high-definition audio as:
1. HD Stereo Audio Mixes (24 bit/96 kHz)
2. HD 5.1 Surround Sound Mixes (24 bit/96 kHz)
3. HD Dolby Atmos Mixes (24 bit/48 kHz)