Fucked Up Announce New Album 'Another Day,' Share "Stimming"

It's the follow-up to last year's 'One Day'

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Jun 10, 2024

Last year was a pretty big one for Fucked Up. In January, they released One Day (which was indeed written and recorded in one day) before co-headlining across the country with the Halluci Nation and celebrating the 15th anniversary of The Chemistry of Common Life in November. Now, the prolific Toronto hardcore punk group have announced another new album, previewed today by new single "Stimming."

Another Day is due for independent release on August 9. Their shortest record to date, it was recorded between Toronto and London, with guitarist Mike Haliechuk producing and Alex Gamble engineering and mixing. Guest vocals are lent to the record by Danko Jones, PONY, Pretty Matty, and Charlie Manning Walker (Chisel, Chubby and the Gang).

As its title might suggest, Another Day is a direct successor to One Day, with the LP's product description noting, "If you compare the track listings and listen to what is being sung, you realize that in sequence and in a thematic sense lyrically, the two albums are absolutely connected in a purposefully contextual and rather brilliant narrative alignment. So, like any parts of a bold series, they're not the same, but they're not completely different." 

The Herculean lead single "Stimming" arrives alongside a music video, directed by and starring drummer Jonah Falco. Here's what the band had to say about it:

In making the video for "Stimming," we tried to depict the transcendence of music from within our bodies outward to physical action. Stimming is self-soothing behaviour through repetition, and in the context of music and our band, we overcome, calm, and manifest the best of ourselves through these specific, finely tuned physical movements which create a freeing joyous place from which to bring new ideas into the world.

Check that out below, where you'll also find the album tracklist. Fucked Up are touring North America with Chastity this summer.

Another Day:

1. Face
2. Stimming
3. Tell Yourself You Will
4. Another Day
5. Paternal Instinct
6. Divining Gods
7. The One to Break It
8. More
9. Follow Fine Feeling
10. House Lights

Pre-order Another Day.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage