Dawn Pemberton Has Somethin' to Say on Debut Solo Album

Dawn Pemberton Has Somethin' to Say on Debut Solo Album
Vancouver soul singer Dawn Pemberton is known around town for her work as a vocalist, arranger, live performer and session singer, but she's ready to step into the spotlight with the announcement of her debut album Say Somethin'.

The album is slated to arrive on October 28 via Do Right! Music, and was recorded with a band consisting of Johnny Andrews (drums), Scott Tucker (bass), Gavin Youngash (guitar), Max Zipursky (keys), Raphael Geronimo (percussion), Colin Maskell (saxophone) and Kristian Naso (trumpet).

The eclectic mix of musicians help deliver the unique blend of funk, jazz and soul, but this record is really about Pemberton. "I enjoyed helping others bring their projects to life and after a while I wanted to experience the process for myself, from beginning to end," she said in a statement about the new record. "It was important to be in full control of the musical choices so that they truly reflected my personality and vibe."

There's a message behind the music, too — the record encourages listeners to have the courage to be vulnerable about what's in their hearts and on their minds. "It's a necessary pep talk to myself and hopefully others," says Pemberton. "We have to be our biggest fans and motivators."

The West Coast soul singer has also shared the lead single from Say Somethin', a groovy, gospel-inspired number called "Deeper." Scroll past the album's tracklisting to give it a listen.

Say Somethin':

1. For You
2. Deeper
3. Say Somethin'
4. Don't Waste Your Time
5. Freedom Time
6. Hello Love
7. Do It To It
8. Inside & Out
9. I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)
10. What I Got