Damien Jurado Unveils 'The Monster Who Hated Pennsylvania' LP

Hear "Helena" from the upcoming album

BY Josiah HughesPublished Mar 2, 2021

Damien Jurado simply refuses to stop releasing new albums of hushed, heart-breaking indie folk, and he'll do it again with a new album called The Monster Who Hated Pennsylvania next month.

The album follows 2020's What's New, Tomboy? and, depending on your count, is either his 16th, 17th or 20th full-length. Regardless of how you view the discography, it's a stunning and deep well.

A press release explains that the album includes "ten intense stories of people determined not to be broken by dire circumstances." The album was produced by Jurado himself, who will release it on his own new Maraqopa Records imprint.

Ahead of its arrival on May 14, you can stream the album's opener "Helena" below.

The Monster Who Hated Pennsylvania:

1. Helena
2. Tom
3. Dawn Pretend
4. Song for Langston Birch
5. Minnesota
6. Johnny Caravella
7. Joan
8. Hiding Ghosts
9. Jennifer
10. Male Customer #1

Latest Coverage