Daft Punk Announce 'Random Access Memories (Drumless Edition)'

Listen to a new version of "Within," sans percussion

BY Nika Petrosian Published Sep 28, 2023

The 10 year anniversary celebration of Daft Punk's Random Access Memories continues with the announcement of a drumless edition of the French duo's colossal 10/10 2013 album.

Random Access Memories (Drumless Edition) will feature the album's original tracklist, but (obviously) with the drums and percussive elements removed. The announcement of the drumless edition came along with the release of "Within (Drumless Edition)."

According to a press release, the purpose is to give listeners the ability to dive deeper into the layers and intricacies of each song from the duo's final album — a goal that, even with one single song, will absolutely be achieved. In listening to the new version of "Within" without its steady drumbeat to accompany the vocals and Chilly Gonzalez's piano, the track is transformed into a lofty, weightless, heartbreaking ballad.

Random Access Memories (Drumless Edition) releases on November 17, joining the album's expanded version and eight-episode series Memory Tapes in celebrating the album's 10 year anniversary.

In the meantime, find "Within (Drumless Edition)" below, and revisit Exclaim!'s 2013 Daft Punk cover story.

Latest Coverage